DEMOCRACY & HOW IT WORKS:

"Democracy", from the Greek words "demos" (people) and "kratos" (rule), places Sovereignty, ie: the ultimate authority to make and impose laws, in the hands of the People.

Democratic Government is Government of the people, by the people and for the people. There are 3 Arms or Branches of Democratic Government, ie: (1) the Parliament; (2) the Executive, and (3) the Judicature. The Parliament and the Executive form the representative side of Government – whereas the Judicature actually has the People playing a direct and active role.

The Parliament is made up of representatives from each electorate. The Parliament debates issues and drafts Bills for legislation which it presents to the Executive, who is appointed by HM the Queen, to judge and either accept or disallow. If the Executive accepts the Bill, then Royal Assent is granted and the legislation become Statute Law. The 3rd Arm of Government is the Judicature, ie: the system of administering Justice, where Juries of 12 people make Common Law when determining actions brought before the Courts. These actions may involve offences against Statute Law. Because people rule in a Democracy, Juries have the ultimate authority to nullify Statute Law when they decide it is unjust or inappropriate in any action.

Common Law is the law of the people, by the people and for the people – whereas Statute Law is only made by the representatives or servants of the people. Therefore, Common Law is superior to and overrules Statute Law.

Common Law is also made by the people by means of Referenda where the entire population who are entitled to vote are asked to approve or reject issues of the day.

In a Democracy, the People rule by making Common Law.

- Written by John Wilson, Email: <u>jhwilson@acay.com.au</u>, Ph: 9872 1661.